The business of the association is conducted by a Council elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in March each year. All ATESOL NSW financial members are welcome to stand for Council. This commitment involves attending up to six Saturday morning meetings per year and volunteering to assist with ATESOL NSW events, action research and advocacy initiatives throughout the year.

Council Meetings for 2020:

Meeting 1 - 22 February
ATESOL NSW AGM - 28 March (9:00am)
Meeting 2 - 9 May
Meeting 3 - 27 June
Meeting 4 - 22 August
Meeting 5 - 17 October
Christmas social - 5 December

All Council meetings take place on a Saturday at 10:30am at the University of Sydney.

If you would like to attend our next meeting or add any matters for discussion to the meeting agenda, please email:

Council Members for 2019:


Janet Freeman (

Vice President
Margaret Turnbull

Rana Straker (

Melanie Davies (

Registrar & Public Officer
Caterina Baitieri

ACTA Councillors
Michael Michell, Margaret Turnbull,
Margaret Wajs (proxy)

MEAG Representative
Gillian Pennington

Ethnic Affairs Representative
Janet Freeman

Newsletter Editors
Glenice Aiken, Marina Pearce

Other Councillors
Sascha Ogilvy, Cindy Valdez-Adams

ATESOL NSW Inc. © 2018-2020
PO Box 965, Kensington NSW 1465
ABN 45 769 925 602